Our annual $1500 William Van Dyke Short Story Prize is open!
Enter Now
Short story must be 
5,500 words or less
Entry fee is $20 
(includes a digital copy of Ruminate) 
Deadline is Feb. 15th (plus a 3-day grace period)
As with all our submissions, we highly recommend reading a copy of the magazine to better understand the type of work we are looking for.

Download a free excerpt from Issue No. 38 featuring some of our favorite short stories
Want to read a full issue?
Purchase issues featuring past Ruminate Short Story Prize recipients here:
"Ruminate is gorgeous and continues to forward
such profound work into the world."
—Shann Ray, winner of Ruminate's 2010 Short Story Prize and author of American Masculine (winner of the American Book Award) and American Copper (winner of the Foreword Book of the Year Readers' Choice Award)
Sign up for our emails, and we'll send you deadline reminders and updates:

Click below to enter the prize:

Enter the Short Story Prize