Our Janet B. McCabe Poetry Prize is closed.
Sign up for our emails, and we'll send you updates and deadline reminders:

Two poems per entry;
40 lines or less

Entry fee is $20
a digital copy of Ruminate)

Deadline is May 15th 
Craig Santos Perez is a native Chamoru (Chamorro) from the Pacific Island of Guåhan/Guam. He is the co-founder of Ala Press, co-star of the poetry album Undercurrent (Hawai’i Dub Machine, 2011), and author of three collections of poetry: from unincorporated territory [hacha] (Tinfish Press, 2008), from unincorporated territory [saina](Omnidawn, 2010), and from unincorporated territory [guma'] (Omnidawn, 2014). He has been a finalist for the LA Times 2010 Book Prize for Poetry and the winner of the 2011 PEN Center USA Literary Award for Poetry.

He is director of the Creative Writing program and an assistant professor of English at the University of Hawai’i, Manoa, where he teaches Pacific literature and creative writing.
As with all our submissions, we highly recommend reading a copy of the magazine to better understand the type of work we are looking for.

Download a free excerpt from a past issue featuring some of the winning poems from our 2013 Poetry Prize judged by Maurice Manning.
Want to read a full issue?
Purchase issues featuring past Poetry Prize recipients here:
"I can’t speak for all writers, but I do think I am not alone in wanting, more than anything, to be read. Read with intention. Read with appreciation. Read with pleasure. Read more than once by the same person. I will always strive for this. And no singular accomplishment has impacted this more than winning the Janet B. McCabe Prize."
—Maggie Blake Bailey, winner of Ruminate's 2017 Janet B. McCabe Poetry Prize. Her poem, "Elizabeth Asks" appears in Issue 45: Unfinished.