Meet the Recipients of the 2014 Janet McCabe Poetry Prize

July 15, 2014

Ruminate Magazine is excited to share with you the winners of the 2014 Janet B. McCabe Poetry Prize! The winning poems were selected by Jeanne Murray Walker. You’ll find the winning poems in Issue 33, which releases early December. 

FIRST PLACE  Emily Rose Cole – "Allegheny County, 1888: Ava Remembers Her Canaries"

Emily Rose Cole is a writer, folksinger, tea-lover, and MFA candidate in poetry at Southern Illinois University Carbondale. Her debut folk album, “I Wanna Know,” was released in May of 2012 and is available on iTunes and Amazon. Last spring, she was the grateful recipient of the Jabberwock Review's Nancy D. Hargrove Editor's Prize. Common themes in her work include fairytale retellings, emotional violence, and terrible things happening to birds. (Despite this, she really loves birds.) She is currently working on a collection of persona poems that retell The Wizard of Oz. Her poetry has appeared or is forthcoming in Day One, Weave Magazine, Neon, Word Riot, Many Mountains Moving, and other wonderful journals.


 Charity Gingerich– The Afterlife of Lepidopterta

Charity Gingerich is from Akron/Canton, Ohio, but considers Morgantown, West Virginia, her second home after teaching writing at WVU for the past six years. This summer found her singing with a Mennonite choral group in Poland for three weeks; choral music is her co-passion to poetry. Her work has appeared or is forthcoming in journals such as Moon City Review, The Laurel Review, Arts & Letters and Quiddity.  Her chapbook, Girl Escaping with Sky, released this summer and is available through Dancing Girl Press.

HONORABLE MENTION J. Scott Brownlee – "Pasture Ode"

FINALISTS Kimberly Burwick, "Apace, Or the Sound of Good Grasses" Abigail Carroll, "Genesis" Elizabeth Chao, "Aphasia" James Dickson, "Mother's Day Plans" Kim Garcia, "Corpse Pose" Jessica Glover, "Because of the Angels: A Response to Paul" Luke Hankins, "Adam" Kathleen Markowitz, "Closing Shop" Berwyn Moore, "Rapture" Carolyn Moore, "Of Zippers and the Nemesis Theory" Carolyn Oxley, "Alpaca" Kimberly Ann, "The Sturgeon Under the Snow" Amy Schmidt, "Earthworms and Their Various Takes on Rain" Jessica Thompson, "This God of My Waking" Thank you to all of you who entered the poetry prize!

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up. We don't allow comments that are disrespectful or personally attack our blog writers.

Also in Ruminate News and Events

Announcing our New Fiction Editors - Ruminate Magazine
Announcing our New Fiction Editors

September 09, 2020

This week we want to introduce our new fiction editors, Joe Truscello and Emily Woodworth.

Read More

2020 JANET B. MCCABE POETRY PRIZE WINNERS: Laura Budofsky Wisniewski and Yvette Siegert - Ruminate Magazine
2020 JANET B. MCCABE POETRY PRIZE WINNERS: Laura Budofsky Wisniewski and Yvette Siegert

July 22, 2020

Ruminate Magazine is excited to share with you the winners of the 2020 Janet B. McCabe Poetry Prize. The winning poems were selected by our final judge Katie Peterson.

Read More

Six Month Update - Ruminate Magazine
Six Month Update

May 19, 2020

Dear Friends of Ruminate,  Thank you for your faith and trust during this transition. We’re nearly six months into our journey toward the future of Ruminate Magazine and it’s been a privilege to watch our amazing community and staff step up to the plate as we navigated uncharted territory for the organization. I’m pleased to announce that we’ll all be a part of this community for a long time to come: Ruminate has decided to remain an independent literary arts magazine. 

Read More