Announcing the Winners of the 2013 VanderMey Nonfiction Prize

June 04, 2013

Ruminate Magazine is excited to share with you the winners of the 2013 VanderMey Nonfiction Prize! The winners were selected by Brian Doyle, editor of Portland Magazine at the University of Portland and author of thirteen books, including the story collection Bin Laden's Bald Spot, the nonfiction books The Grail and The Wet Engine. You'll find the winning pieces in Issue 28: Not Forgotten—pick up a copy today!

 Craig Reinbold - The Girl in the Photograph            







SECOND PLACE Lindsey DeLoach Jones - Fall in Love, Lourdemie            


HONORABLE MENTION Denise Frame Harlan - Smoke Rings

Caroline Crawford - Tectonics of a Glacier Summer
Kerri Dieffenwierth - Swamp Angel Stomp
Debbie Hagan -Blind Curve
Mark Liebenow - Deeper Lake of Blue
Rachel Montany - Bone Loss
Emily Rosenbaum - The Green Light at the End of the Dock
Jeffrey Schneider - Tableland
Allison Backous Troy - Inertia

Thank you to all of you who submitted—we had a wonderful time reading your words.

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up. We don't allow comments that are disrespectful or personally attack our blog writers.

Also in Ruminate News and Events

Six Month Update
Six Month Update

May 19, 2020

Dear Friends of Ruminate,  Thank you for your faith and trust during this transition. We’re nearly six months into our journey toward the future of Ruminate Magazine and it’s been a privilege to watch our amazing community and staff step up to the plate as we navigated uncharted territory for the organization. I’m pleased to announce that we’ll all be a part of this community for a long time to come: Ruminate has decided to remain an independent literary arts magazine. 

Read More

2020 William Van Dyke Short Story Prize Winners: Leigh Claire Schmidli + Etan Nechin
2020 William Van Dyke Short Story Prize Winners: Leigh Claire Schmidli + Etan Nechin

May 16, 2020

Ruminate Magazine is thrilled to share with you the winners of the 2020 William Van Dyke Short Story Prize! The winning pieces were selected by our final judge, Wendy J. Fox, and will appear in our fall 2020 issue which releases mid-September! You can subscribe now to receive Issue 56 or pre-order the issue here.

Read More


April 01, 2020

Please join us May 19-23 for this wild and beautiful experience. Our contributors want to take your narrative and as Marie Howe said, "transform it, type it out, and then read it back to [you]. It [is your] own lives, given back, if you will."

Read More