2016 Spiritual Nonfiction Prize Winners: Jane Holwerda + Caitlin Scarano

May 20, 2016

Ruminate Magazine is excited to share with you the winners of the 2016 Spiritual Nonfiction Prize. The winning essay was selected by our final judge, Brianna Van Dyke. You can read the winning essays in Issue 39: Magnificent Frailty, which releases this coming June.

FIRST PLACE: Jane Holwerda

  Jane Holwerda  lives in southwestern Kansas where she writes, lives with cats, consistently overwaters her gallardia and coreopsis, and teaches for Dodge City Community College. Her writing has been published in various magazines, including Hurricane Review, MacGuffin, Red River Review, Sou’wester, South Loop Review, and the Langdon Review. She is thankful for the American Studies and English graduate faculty of Saint Louis University for their mentoring and support of her spiritual perambulations all those years ago. Our final judge, Brianna Van Dyke writes: Quo Vadis, Slayer delightfully reminds us that some of our best teachers can come from some of the most unlikely of sources. And with this surprising shift, this welcoming of the unlikely teacher, Quo Vadis, Slayer invites us all into the humble and exciting posture of the life-long student, continually open to new and unexpected places of learning and growth. For this invitation and reminder, I am deeply grateful. You can read Quo Vadis, Slayer in issue 39, which releases this coming June. 

SECOND PLACE: Caitlin Scarano

  Caitlin Scarano  is a poet in the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee PhD creative writing program. She was the winner of the 2015 Indiana Review Poetry Prize, judged by Eduardo Corral, and Conium Review's 2015 Flash Fiction Contest. She has two poetry chapbooks: The White Dog Year (dancing girl press, 2015) and The Salt and Shadow Coiled (Zoo Cake Press, 2015). Her recent work can be found in Granta, Crazyhorse, and Ninth Letter.




Tanya Bellehumeur-Allatt
Mike Bonifas
Johanna Hardy
Jessica Lynne Henkle
Beatrice Hill
Karen Jackson
Mark Liebenow
Jen Maidenberg
Jared O'Brien
Amy Schmidt
Gail Tyson
Linda Wisniewski

Thank you to all of you who entered the Spiritual Nonfiction Prize!  
Ruminate Magazine hosts an annual contest for short fiction, creative nonfiction, poetry, and visual art. You can read more about our writing contests and art contest here.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up. We don't allow comments that are disrespectful or personally attack our blog writers.